Ilhan 728×90
Ilhan 728×90

Remove 4 Luo counties from Kenya-jubilee activitist demands

A political activist of jubilee and political consultant Washington Makodingo demands four Luo Nyanza Counties be pulled out from the Kenyan map.

In a drafted bill set to be summited to the electoral commission, Makodingo wants Kisumu, Migori, Homabay and Siaya to be removed from Kenya and allowed to form their own government.

The activist however says the Kuria community, who are in Migori County should be given their own county and be allowed to remain in Kenya.

He further demands Maseno division of Kisumu county (North West ward of Kisumu west constituency), be moved from Luo lands to Vihiga through an amendment of First Schedule to reflect the new Counties

He is pushing for the reduction of the counties to 44 (minus 4 of Luo Nyanza plus Kuria) and amending the Composition of National Assembly and Senate accordingly.

“If the people of Luo Nyanza think that they cannot belong in Kenya, we give them opportunity to make that choice.” Makodingo told reporters.

“The conversations began within jubilee but we have support from across and by the time we submit the bill, we shall have a complete list of the drafters.” Makodingo said.

While defending the draft, the activist said they had targeted the Luo counties since 25 constituencies from the region not only refused to vote during the October 26 repeat polls but also violently blocked the elections.

“The Makodingos and Tujus will have a choice to either remain in Kenya or secede within 90 days,” he said.

The activist said that they will submit the draft to IEBC by Thursday for concurrence and if approved, will start collecting signatures to push for a referendum.

Do you have something to add to this story? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Your comments:

About The Author

Mr. Kitty is a NepJournal Correspondent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *