Ilhan 728×90
Ilhan 728×90


Public Service vehicles will no longer access the Central Business District of Nairobi, after the County government published new rules in a Gazette Notice that prohibit the public vehicles from operating in the heart of Nairobi.

The new rules are expected to take effect from next week Wednesday 20th, the Nairobi County Government has reshuffled operational routes of the buses too.

Routes reaching the CBD from Waiyaki Way, Uhuru Highway, Kipande road and Limuru road will be stationed at Muranga Road Terminus A (Fig Tree). Travellers accessing the CBD from Thika Road, Kiambu Road and Ruiru will stage at Murang’a Road Terminus B, Fig Tree.

Vehicles using Juja road and Lusaka road will park at Muthurwa Terminus while those from Ngong Road will park at Railway terminus among other terminuses for PSV use include Desai Service Road Terminus, Park Road Terminus, Machakos terminus, Central Bus Station and Hakati Terminus.

Previously in May, Governor Evans Kidero’s government banned all PSVs from accessing the CBD after accusations of failing to deal with traffic congestion. Matatu’s Owners Association Chair Simon Kimutai said Kidero’s move did not involve them in implementing the regulations.

Do you have something to add to this story? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Your comments:

About The Author